In Search of the Perfect (WoW) Sunset

Laz setting off on his search.

Laz setting off on his search.

Between the various parts I am writing of As the Sun Sets (yes, yes Part 3 coming soon) and my admittance of Laz and Effy’s last moments watching the sun set as the world ends, I have been somewhat obsessed with finding a spot with the perfect sunset.

I think I succeeded…  For now.

I also thought this would be a good time to showcase his outfit (which is still lacking the perfect weapon and shield).

I also thought this would be a good time to showcase Laz’s outfit (which is still lacking the perfect weapon and shield).

Laz went on an expedition yesterday that spanned several continents.

Pandaria was an okie idea and Dalaran came to mind, but I preferred the idea of something old world.  I tried many spots in Eastern Kingdoms, and none of those I thought might have a good spot had the right atmosphere.  It was either blue or grey or rainy.  So I kept looking.

Then it was to Kalimdor, to continue the search.

Then it was to Kalimdor, to continue the search.

Azshara seemed the perfect idea, especially since it is already one of my favorite zones.  But nothing quite worked.  There was a nice orange haze to the horizon, but no real sunset.

I even turned to Twitter, with no real success, even though someone else seemed similarly intrigued by the question and RT’d it…

Does anyone know when the sun sets in WoW? And a good place to watch? #warcraft

I laid pretty low throughout Firelands, so I guess I have never really looked up - but very cool! Just not my sunset.

Above the Sulfuron Spire – I laid pretty low throughout Firelands, so I guess I have never really looked up, but very cool! Just not my sunset.

Then, as Azshara proved unhelpful to my search, I flew around Mount Hyjal.  At the most western end of Hyjal, near the Grove of Aessina and above the regrowth area – I found it!

It is not truly a sunset, because the sun was behind the clouds, which was disappointing.  But it was fitting, and it was quite beautiful…

This shot turned out so nice, I made it my desktop. :)

This shot turned out so nice, I made it my desktop. :)

My plan is to continue looking, because I know WoW has so many beautiful places!  I think WoW sunsets may become a low-key project for me.

Lazheward’s outfit – Dawn’s Protector with some tweaks:

The weapon and shield will change, I was just using what I had on hand, but for now it works very well for tanking dungeons while I level.  :)

Laz and Effy! (See? This is likely the real reason I have two accounts...)

Laz and Effy! (This is apparently the real reason I have two accounts!)

Do you know of any really great sunset spots in WoW?  Let me know!

5 thoughts on “In Search of the Perfect (WoW) Sunset

  1. Pingback: violescent. « Sick with Poetry.

Leave a Reply

