Filling the Ranks

Filling the Ranks - Achievement Cata CE

For the past week, I had been pushing for some of the pets I really want, many from my BiS list of last week.

DW, AKA Lil' Deathwing

DW, AKA Lil’ Deathwing – BiS P/P Dragonkin

One of those pets, as you can see from above, was Lil’ Deathwing, AKA DW.  Yup.  Even though I did not break down and buy it when it was new and shiny, I did finally buy the Collector’s Edition of Cataclysm.  I have made quick glances at the other expansions’ Collector’s Editions and… unless I meet with an expected windfall… yah, this one is it.  No matter how much I would like a Frosty or a Netherwhelp to complement my other dragons, those are a bit too rich for my blood.

Filling the Ranks - Shady Deal

I also got a rare TCG card from the Collector’s Edition, and I went to go make a shady deal in Booty Bay with Landro.  Poor Xarzith, she could not watch her mum deal with Goblins.

Alas, it was only Path of Cenarius. No epic mount. heh

Alas, it was only Path of Cenarius. No epic mount. heh

However, many of the pets on my BiS list were battle pets, and so when not raiding last week and then over the weekend, I went hunting all over Azeroth.

I picked up and leveled all kinds of lil friends…

Kasi, the Cheetah Cub

Kasi, the Cheetah Cub – BiS S/S Beast

Veloc, the Cogblade Raptor

Veloc, the Cogblade Raptor – BiS S/S Mechanical

 

Rangoon, the Emperor Crab - BiS P/P Aquatic

Rangoon, the Emperor Crab – BiS P/P Aquatic

Blades, the Flayer Youngling - BiS S/S Humanoid

Blades, the Flayer Youngling – BiS S/S Humanoid

George, the Kun-Lai Runt _ BiS P/P Humanoid

George, the Kun-Lai Runt _ BiS P/P Humanoid

 

Lil Ranico, the Sapphire Cub - BiS S/S Elemental (named for the one who gifted him to me)

Lil Ranico, the Sapphire Cub – BiS S/S Elemental (named for the one who gifted him to me)

Luna, the Silky Moth - BiS S/S Flying

Luna, the Silky Moth – BiS S/S Flying

Cinereal, the Silver Dragonhawk Hatchling - BiS S/S Dragonkin

Cinereal, the Silver Dragonhawk Hatchling – BiS S/S Dragonkin

 

 

Phoebe, the Nordrassil Wisp - second BiS S/S Magic (under the Zergling)

Phoebe, the Nordrassil Wisp – second BiS S/S Magic (under the Zergling)

 

Wieva, the Nether Faerie Dragon - second BiS S/S and second P/P Dragonkin

Wieva, the Nether Faerie Dragon – second BiS S/S and second P/P Dragonkin (her P/P counterpart is Hysvear)

 

There were some non-BiS distractions…

Desert Spider, one of the second fastest Beast pets, and I like their skill combos.

Lloth, the Desert Spider – second BiS S/S Beast pet, and I like their skill combos.

And there were some frustrations to be found…

Why why why must you spawn in the basement where I cannot engage you? And you are friendly, even, so I cannot kill you to respawn elsewhere!

Why why why must you spawn in the basement where I cannot engage you?? And you are friendly, so I cannot even kill you to respawn elsewhere!

I also did some dailies…

Yah, yah... Not exalted with Cloud Serpents, because it did not equal raid gear. ><

Yah, yah… Not exalted with Cloud Serpents, because it did not equal raid gear. >< But my hatchling loves me!

And some holiday stuff…

Filling the Ranks - Achievement Elder

I made sure to finish up my achievements for my Elder title… Finally!

Too bad it will still be a while before I see my Violet Proto-Drake.  I still need Noblegarden and the PvP achievements from Children’s Week and Winter’s Veil.

I also finally convinced myself to battle the Pandaren Spirits.  That went pretty well, even while playing around with some pets I was still leveling.

Filling the Ranks - Completed Burning Spirit

Filling the Ranks - Completed Flowing Spirit

Filling the Ranks - Completed Thundering Spirit

Filling the Ranks - Completed Whispering Spirit

 

Filling the Ranks - Pandaren Spirits

Zemlya, the Pandaren Earth Spirit

Zemlya, the Pandaren Earth Spirit

So I acquired the earth spirit, and named him Zemlya, which means “earth” in Russian.  My plan is to use the other elements as names for my future Pandaren Spirits.

Now that I have a good deal of the pets I want – and many of those to 25 now – I am going to shift my focus.  I will still be working on my pet trainer dailies, but my main focus is going back to my alts.  Most importantly, my Monk, Ireenia.

Effy’s lil ward is growing up, and she is overdue for some playtime and some storytime.  My my!  How quickly they grow!

~ Effy

Filling the Ranks - Fighting with DW

All in all, there was much pet battling…

Lots and lots

Lots and lots

And lots of pet dings!

And many pet dings!

10 thoughts on “Filling the Ranks

  1. Brings back fond (kidding) memories of spending literally hours in Feralas for a rare Nether Faerie Dragon. There were tons of them and they respawned quickly but was it ever hard to get a rare.

    I wish I could get Cat to give battling a little break so the rest of the crew could do some leveling too!

    • Heh, yah, the Nether Faerie Dragons are quite tricky. They are plentiful, and easily dispatched by Longwei, my Celestial Dragon, but boy are they stingy! It was the S/S I wanted, and of course the P/P that came first. So I told myself I would stick around a lil bit longer, and sure enough the S/S thought if her brother was good enough for my team, so was she!

      It has become painfully obvious that my alt-addiction has been getting sidelined for far too much of this expansion already! I figure, now that Xarzith is all growed up, she is going to want something to keep her busy while Effy is off saving the world. So she is going to find her some Monks to train her in the way of the dragon. (Which endlessly amuses me!) That way, she can be a healer just like her mum. :)

      ~ Effy

    • That is actually some Hunter’s pet. lol I do not remember where/what that guy comes from. I am sure Euphyely would know over at WoW Rare Spawns! Oh yah, look at that, Silithus!

      ~ Effy

  2. I love the Lil’ Deathwing! He hits like a brick… which I suppose would be the case because you have him listed as the b/s p dragon. Still it looks like quite a collection. I should stop leveling toons and get to leveling my pets. 4 more levels. Just 4 more levels until 25. XD

  3. @ Effraeti – I assume when you are saying BiS for Breed/Class you are meaning BiS just by stats ? Or are you taking into account the pets utility in battle ( what skills, any combos to setup, that sort of stuff )

Leave a Reply

