#WoW30 Challenge: Day Four – Favorite Race

Draenei_Icon

Meat-Vendor’s prompt for Day 4 of the 30 Day Challenge is:

Favorite Race

A Draenei, by Linessa

A Draenei Female, by Linessa

Newsflash: Effy likes Draenei!

What?  That is not breaking news?  Oh…

Well, either way, the Draenei are my favorite race.  Perhaps you have gleaned this from some of my stories or perhaps from my two main characters, particularly my avatar, Effy.  But Ireenia has been moving up in importance in my stories as of late.

A Draenei Female, by Applesin

A Draenei Female, by Applesin

BTW, enjoy some great fan art I came across while looking for Draenei pictures.  I figured they would complement this post nicely.

What can I say about Draenei that would not be repeating myself?  (Not much, I suppose.)

I love their other-worldliness and how different they are from the other races.  I love their lore, as scattered as it is.  I love their tenacity.  I love their dedication to good and to the Light, despite the trials that block their path.  I love their ability for compassion and their capacity to defend themselves despite it.

I love that they are blue and have tails and horns.  It is the truth.

I love writing from their point of view and exploring their stories and lore more deeply.

I love my Monk and I really, really love my Shaman.

I love the idea of going back to Draenor and seeing where my Shaman lived before I was introduced to her.

A Draenei Female Hunter, by Tamplierpainter

A Draenei Female Hunter, by Tamplierpainter

Interested in Draenei lore?

Check out Matthew Rossi’s Know Your Lore post about the Draenei over on WoW Insider.

And check out Doronsmovies’ video about the Draenei:

And now…

Yesterday, we witnessed the moment all of us Draenei-lovers have been waiting for:

The reveal of the new Draenei female model for Warlords of Draenor!

New Draenei Female Model

New Draenei Female Model

Draenei Female New Model

New Draenei Female Model

My thoughts?

I think they did a good job of taking an already incredible model and refining her just enough.  I cannot wait to see the animations, because though her art update is subtle, but very elegant, I imagine it will make a huge difference in her movements and emotes!

Personally, I look forward to seeing her with the new cloak animations too, because I have always insisted upon hiding the cloaks on my Draenei females.  I cannot stand the awkward L-shape they make because of their tail.  Perhaps they will not do that anymore.

We shall see.

And I promise to get caught back up with the #WoW30 Challenge, but how cool is it that I was able to post about my favorite race right after their new models came out??  :D

~ Effy

What do you think of the new character models so far?

One thought on “#WoW30 Challenge: Day Four – Favorite Race

  1. I am definitely enjoying the new models and am anxious to see what they will do with the elves – both factions. I do love my Draeni and have only just started getting into the Lore as I can find it – thank you for your post. :D

Leave a Reply

