#WoW30 Challenge: Day Eight – Major City

A beautiful, hazy picture of Ironforge, found on WoWWiki

A beautiful, hazy picture of Ironforge, found on WoWWiki

Meat-Vendor’s prompt for Day 8 of the 30 Day Challenge is:

Major City

I realize that Stormwind is technically the capital city of the Alliance, but back when I started playing WoW, Ironforge was the place to be.  Back in Wrath, Dalaran did not have a auction house, unless you were an engineer, and Ironforge had the most accessible one of any of the capital cities.

So I became quite familiar with the city of the Dwarves.

It saddened me when Stormwind became the reinforced Alliance capital in Cata, because it was where all of the Cata zone portals were.  Do not get me wrong, I was pleased Blizzard added an auction house to the Dwarven District, I prefer it much more than the Trade District.  But it felt like a cheap substitute for Ironforge.  Stormwind is just so large and impersonal, whereas Ironforge is all warm and cozy.

Poor Ironforge, I miss you.  Perhaps I should base one of my next stories there.

~ Effy

P.S. Well, apparently people still hang out there, at least on Sunday mornings!  Maybe I am just too lazy to leave the Shrine?  Or perhaps these are mostly bank toons?  I think it sounds like a perfect place for my bank toons!

WoW30 - City - Ironforge Gates

Leave a Reply

