Dialogue Course – Lesson 1: Captivated

Because I am not busy and stressed enough (har har har), I decided I wanted to try an email writing course.  I found a course I am greatly enjoying so far, from a website called Creative Writing Now, a course called Mastering Dialogue.

I am actually quite impressed with how many people seem to also be taking the course at the same time as me.  There is a course blog, where you can publish your pieces for others to read and critique.  I am already enjoying myself, and I have already received some nice comments about this first piece.

The first lesson:

Imagine that the character you’ve just invented is in the following situation: an unattractive stranger approaches your character on the street and asks your character out on a date.  Think about what your character would say.

I thought and thought about this, and finally decided I wanted to change things up just a little bit.  The unattractive part was less inspiring than an intriguing stranger with odd qualities.

So the prompt got me started, but I went in my own direction.  Please let me know what you think.

I think writing is exactly what I need to battle all this stress.  So far so good.  :)

~ Effy

Captivated

The way he sensually stretched out his S’s as he spoke intrigued her in the most disturbing way, but it was more than the strange-eyed man’s particular manner of speaking that left Leilae feeling drawn in by him.  It had first been those eyes that captivated her – gold-flecked and appearing almost luminescent, glowing from beneath his thick, dark eyebrows – when he had strode up to her with no warning and even less introduction.

“It would please me greatly if you would allow me to buy you dinner, lovely miss.”  He made a sweeping bow that caused the dark jade-colored cape about his shoulders to fall forward on either side.  When he straightened, it rustled back into place, but not before Leilae thought of his arms as wings with the fabric dangling from them like great webbing.

Everything about him seemed out of place and yet just right.

“I-I…” Leilae stammered.

“Ahh, but I have left you speechless,” the man said with a hint of a smile pulling up the edges of his well-trimmed goatee.  “Forgive me and my rudeness.  I have not even introduced myself.  I am Cern.”  He held out his hand for hers as he drew out the S sound in his name, until it sounded like “Sssern.”

“Leilae,” the woman finally managed in a breathy whisper, still captivated by his very presence.  She let him take her hand, and he kissed it briefly.  Just that short contact sent a ripple of electricity through her that made all her hair stand on end.

“I saw you from across the way, and knew I had to become acquainted with you,” Cern said, filling in the gaps of her end of the conversation and leaving none of the awkward pauses that would have been there otherwise.  “I am always surprised and delighted by the workings of… women… but never so much as I am with you.”

Every S that tumbled from his lips in a perfect line like soldiers going to war drew her in further.

“Say ‘yes.’  You must,” Cern implored, his eyes dancing and glinting like tumbling gold coins.

“Yes,” Leilae said before any thought otherwise could even form in her mind.

~ ~ ~ ~ ~

This story and all related material are the original works of Awaiting the Muse and Jamie Roman AKA Effraeti.  All rights reserved.
Creative Commons License
Awaiting the Muse by Jamie Roman AKA Effraeti is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 3.0 Unported License.

Based on a work at http://awaitingthemuse.wordpress.com/.

Leave a Reply

