Draggin’/Dragon

Plays on words are fun.  English is great for that, since there are so many words with similar meanings, spellings, and sounds.  Call me silly, but while typing Draggin’ I thought it sounded a lot like Dragon.

Rawr!

Easily amused?  Yes, I am.

Yesterday I was just that – draggin’ – because I was going on 2 hours of sleep.  I know, I know.  Be a responsible adult and all that…  I still went to work, and I was still productive.  I was actually doing quite well until about 3pm.  Then, I got home and refused to take a nap, because that would have screwed up my sleep schedule even more.  So at 10pm BAM! I was out.

Why was I running on 2 hours of sleep?  Well, this is kind of embarrassing, but I was up reading.  Yah, not partying.  Not even gaming.  I was reading.  I was actually in bed about 10pm Sunday night too.

<— party animal

I literally read about 400 pages and finished Inheritance.

I usually would not do that.  Reading is my normal evening wind down.  Even if I only read for a few minutes.  Because usually it makes me tired.

Six hours later, I only knew how late it was because my stomach was growling and my mouth was really dry… and I had read 400 pages!

Yah, uh oh.

So yes, I finally finished Inheritance.  I have since started the newest Dark Tower book, The Wind Through the Keyhole.  It is kind of odd dropping back into the story, but comfortable.  For anyone familiar with the other books, it takes place between Wizard and Glass and Wolves of the Calla.  But it is really just an excuse for Roland to tell more stories about himself.  Which is fine by me.

Thankee, sai.

For the so-so Stephen King I am, I cannot suggest the Dark Tower series enough.  To date, this is one of my favorite series – right up there with the Ender’s books and Harry Potter.

Yay!  Back to reading on my phone.

I feel so dirty saying that.  Reading on an electronic device just seems so wrong.

I am one of those people who love to wander around the bookstore.  I love the feel of a book in my hands.  I love cover art and art sparingly interspersed within.  I love the peppery smell of old books.

I am sure that is part of why I like my little notebooks so much.  🙂

How can I enjoy any of these when I am downloading a book straight to my phone?

What can I say?  They are so much more convenient.  I forget my book, but I do not forget my phone.

But I still think there is no way in hell a digital book should ever be more than a physical book, though.  Seriously.

The other thing going on with me right now, is I am up to my eyeballs in Effy, trying to finish a story I am currently working on.  It should not surprise me at this point that Effy stories always take on a life of their own, and get way out of control on length.  I am over 6k words in already, and I am finally, almost to the part of the story that actually inspired me to write it in the first place.

So how much longer the story and the wait will be?  Hmmm…  I am working on it!

I have also been drawing.  It started because I realized that without screenshots for my stories, they are very much without the color I enjoyed from all of my pictures.  If nothing else, my stories should have a “cover” picture for the beginning.

Blog posts should have pictures!

I may start to do that regularly, but how long my current drawing phase will last is anyone’s guess.

~ Effy, the Hypocrite (Because this post has no pictures)

Leave a Reply

