Alt Appreciation #MageWeek

Jaina Proudmoore

Jaina Proudmoore

Laeleiweyn of World of Lae has challenged bloggers with 11 weeks of Alt Appreciation!  I happen to be a huge altaholic, because I love leveling, love learning new classes/specs, and I most of all love writing stories for my many characters!  So I definitely felt this was a challenge I had to take on.

Here is my post for Week 4.

#MageWeek

The Mage is one of my least-played classes.  I have tried leveling one a few times.  I think it is mostly the fact that they are a pure DPS class – I cannot heal or tank with one, which is where I am more comfortable and where I am most likely to level faster through dungeons and then to get groups faster at max level.

So I was thinking about what to do for #MageWeek.  I read the post about names in World of Warcraft, on Gamasutra,  I was intrigued about the reasoning behind Mages having the most diversity in names.  I think this is because of their three diverse specs – Frost, Fire, and Arcane.  It might also be because the Mage is one of the most iconic and easily recognizable classes in a fantasy world/game.

So to show my appreciation for Mages and their diversity, I decided to update some of my previous Mage transmogs for the three specs.

Frost

Female Draenei Mage - Front

Female Draenei Mage – Front

Female Draenei Mage - Back

Female Draenei Mage – Back

Ethereum Life-Staff

Ethereum Life-Staff

Frostfire Shoulderpads - If these were still obtainable (other than the BMAH), I would substitute these.

Frostfire Shoulderpads – If these were still obtainable (other than the BMAH), I would substitute these.  There are so few good, frosty pieces.

Fire

Male Worgen Mage - Front

Male Worgen Mage – Front

Male Worgen Mage - Back

Male Worgen Mage – Back

Bloodfire Greatstaff

Bloodfire Greatstaff

Male Human Mage - Front

Male Human Mage – Front

Male Human Mage - Back

Male Human Mage – Back

Bloodfire Greatstaff

Bloodfire Greatstaff

Arcane

Female Human Mage - Front

Female Human Mage – Front

Female Human Mage - Back

Female Human Mage – Back

Staff of Sorcerer-Thane Thaurissan

Staff of Sorcerer-Thane Thaurissan

My Mages

None of my Mages are very high level…  It is kind of embarrassing.  :/

MageWeek - KiiraeKiirae is my biggest success at leveling a Mage, so far.  Back in Cata, I discovered Fire, and had quite a bit of fun with it.  I have not done anything with her in MoP, except to use her as a bank toon.  As a story character, Kiirae appeared in Descending Twilight Part 2, and later became a mentor of sorts to my Monk, Ireenia, due to the fact they are both Blue dragons.  For this reason, Kiirae should technically be a Frost Mage, and not a Fire Mage.  Hence the Frost outfit above.

MageWeek - AethelwulfAethelwulf is Eduard, the patron of House Wolfsbane.  You might notice that his Armory profile shows him as a Warlock…  Well, he is a Warlock, but since creating him and my stories of his family, I have realized that he would more appropriately be a Mage.  So in a recent story of Eduard and Gaeladrial, for my #DruidWeek post, I finally made him a Mage.  A Fire Mage!  So, the transmog above, I have decided that is his outfit from that story.

MageWeek - MaeyvMaeyv appears in a few stories, part of a larger story I have yet to complete.  She hears the voices of the Old Gods, and this makes her seem a bit crazy to others – in fact, she probably is.  Maeyv began as an actual roleplaying toon.  When I was on Wyrmrest Accord, I dabbled in trying to roleplay.  I created her, and she wandered Goldshire, until she had an interesting conversation with a dwarf there.  It made me realize two things:

  1. I am horrible at roleplaying.  I am too particular about the story, and not good at improvising.
  2. I did like the storyline I was creating for her.  She started as just a tad crazy, and then I began to dabble in the why.

Maeyv is a quintessential Mage, and in my mind that means she is purely Arcane.  Therefore, she has the Arcane set above.  Her set started much like the one on her Armory profile, but I thought the new set looks a bit more grownup.  Oh, but Cat is definitely still part of the outfit.  🙂

Keep an eye out next week, for my Alt Appreciation #MonkWeek post!

~ Effy

6 thoughts on “Alt Appreciation #MageWeek

Leave a Reply

