SotR: Entering SoO

Siege of OrgrimmarPatch 5.4 is live, and we are now a week in.

Siege of Orgrimmar is proving very interesting so far.  I like the layout, with several very different “wings” that in reality take you through the destroyed Vale, underneath it, through Orgrimmar, underneath it (yay! Ragefire Chasm!), to who knows where, because I have not seen the entirety of the raid dungeon yet.  From what I have seen, it is visually captivating and tugs at my lore-strings.

From a healing point of view, it is a bit of a change from last tier.  We seem to be swinging in the direction of “overgeared” and therefore we are dealing with more spike damage then before.  There is no real use for fights where we can steadily manage our mana, since Spirit is steadily climbing.  We are moving more in the direction of the faster, more expensive heals.  Otherwise, one big spike hits and half the raid dies.

So goes the aging expansion for the raid healer.

I am enjoying the mixture of many mechanics with bosses that fall to good raid coordination.  So far, they require interesting dancing and dynamic mechanics, some of which grate against the good sense of every raider…  “What?  I have to stand IN the purple stuff on the ground??”  Or like on some fights, with more ingrained mechanics, like our part time real leader, Gv, is fond of saying, “There’s too much to explain.  Just avoid stuff.”  I like commonsense mechanics, but I do not mind the occasional curveball, as long as my guildies do not mind it meaning we wipe a few times while everyone mentally adjusts.  🙂

It has only been a week so far, but UR has made some awesome progression.  We are 8/14 already.  I have confidence we will get further this week.

Missing Wednesday night raids is proving very difficult for me.  (Poor Final, he is constantly dealing with “How goes raid?” and “What boss y’all on?” all Wednesday night while I am at school and after I get home.)  I know school is important, and I am doing well and enjoying myself and learning a lot.  But…  RAIDING!!  I miss my guildies on Wednesdays.  I miss being there, especially this early in the tier, for new kills, progression kills.  Heck, missing the first raid night of the week is meaning I am never going to see the first three bosses of SoO on Normal.  :/  And that number of bosses will grow as gear improves and the bosses become more farmable.

But I love my guildies.  I cannot fault them for being so awesome.  In fact, I commend them for the great job we are already doing this tier!

~ Effy

For the killshots I am missing, check out our guild’s front page!

Immerseus via Flex

Immerseus via Flex

The Fallen Protectors via Flex

The Fallen Protectors via Flex

Norushen viz Flex

Norushen via Flex

Sha of Pride

Sha of Pride

Sha of Pride DOWN in 25man!

Sha of Pride DOWN in 25man!

Galakras DOWN in 25man!

Galakras DOWN in 25man!

Iron Juggernaut

Iron Juggernaut

Iron Juggernaut DOWN in 25man!

Iron Juggernaut DOWN in 25man!

Kor'kron Dark Shaman

Kor’kron Dark Shaman

Kor'kron Dark Shaman DOWN in 25man!

Kor’kron Dark Shaman DOWN in 25man!

General Nazgrim

General Nazgrim

General Nazgrim DOWN in 25man!

General Nazgrim DOWN in 25man!

Malkorok

Malkorok

Leave a Reply

