New Year, New Thoughts

New Year's 2015

2015. A new year means new starts and resolutions.

I have a number of goals for 2015. The first goal is already underway. I signed up for my winter classes!

Because I have to take a “job search” class, I decided to take a slightly heavier than full time schedule. I am scheduled for 15 credit hours, all packed into Tuesday and Thursday. I was not able to work in the last two required classes for my degree–a math credit and a science credit–because they both require me to take a math test for placement. So I took the opportunity to schedule some classes I really want to take. I wanted to make sure I have classes that will keep me writing and will further inspire me. I think this semester should accomplish that.

  • Creative Writing II
  • Horror and Science Fiction
  • Mythology
  • Technical Writing III
  • Job Search Success Seminar

The Horror and Science Fiction class should be really fun, though, my first task is to ask my teacher if there is a similar fantasy class.🙂 I already have my reading list, so I have already started reading them. I figure if I read them before the class starts, I can focus better on the assignments and analyzing them. What books? These five:

  • Carrie, by Stephen King
  • Rosemary’s Baby, by Ira Levin
  • Fahrenheit 451, by Ray Bradbury
  • Interview with the Vampire, by Anne Rice
  • Do Androids Dream of Electric Sheep?, by Philip K. Dick (AKA Bladerunner)

My second goal is also already underway. I am re-formatting our catalog at work. I am very excited about this. I am writing and designing it almost from scratch, as well as expanding it. I am working to include excerpts from some of my work blog posts from the past year as well.

I am historically horrible about New Year’s resolutions. So this year, I decided to keep them simple:

  1. Drive myself to write more–especially for publishing on the blog.
  2. Continue my education–get my degree and continue taking classes.

I think completing my degree before the end of 2015 is more than achievable. Other than my Tech Writing degree, I also want to take more classes–marketing, graphic design, web design.

I thought this was a neat tweet by Writer.ly:

Writer.ly New Year's Tweet

I like 6-word stories, even though I’m not very good at them. I did come up with a few:

  • Resolving to make 2015 even better.
  • Family–ringing in the New Year!
  • Eat, drink, and be very merry!
  • New Year = Goodbye 2014, hello 2015!
  • Friends turned lovers on New Year’s.

They’re not very “adventurous” but I guess I’m not succinct enough to tell a whole story in 6 words. lol

Either way–Happy New Year, everyone!

~ Effy

Leave a Reply

