Short Story – Forever

Idea

No prompt here. I don’t want to say too much… just, I hope you enjoy. Let me know what you think.

~ Effy

Forever

Even before the handle clicked into place–the sound of my impending, eternal loneliness–I knew she was never coming back.

Hours ticked away, then days. She’d never been gone this long. I tried to remember the many times she’d said she was leaving before, but always she’d come back. Maybe this time she wasn’t. It had been forever. Surely, she’d forgotten me. Surely, she’d moved on.

I tried to occupy myself. Only pacing worked, and even that helped little. It didn’t calm my mind, but at least it kept me moving.

I began to cry, big mournful howls of distress. She was never coming back. I shouted the unfairness at the closed door. I begged it to open. I wished only to see her face peek around it, her smile at seeing me.

That smile, that was what I lived for.

I started to panic. Maybe there’d been an accident and she couldn’t come back. Maybe there had been an atomic bomb or a zombie apocalypse. Maybe she couldn’t return. Maybe she was hurt. Maybe everyone was dead, and I was the only one left alive anywhere.

I had to get out.

I frantically clawed at the door. I butted it with my head, my shoulders. I tried to squeeze beneath it, willing myself into the tiny gap that shone light from without like a beacon, calling me, taunting me. I held my breath and tried again, hoping if I made myself as thin as possible, I might fit through the crack.

Nothing worked. I panted from the effort.

I got a drink, but grew angry at the mocking bowls, my only companions. I splashed the water. Ha! Water! Take that! I splashed some more. But it continued to mock me from the floor.

The realization occurred to me that if the world had not ended, and she did return, she’d be angry at the mess. My eyes darted around anxiously. The towel! Mop it up! Quickly! I smeared the towel all over the floor. The water soaked into the fabric. Phew.

But the towel was a mess of wetness, and offended my senses. So I stuffed it in the furthest corner from me. The wet mess spoke to me, and told me she would know… if she came back, which seemed less likely with every passing second.

Why, why did she leave?

Just when I felt I could take no more, I heard a metallic rattle. Keys! And the wiggle of the doorknob. And the movement of the door.

Ohmigod! She came back!

As her face smiled down at me, I knew the greatest happiness of my life. I covered her with kisses. I shook my tail until I was sure it would fall off. She said happy, loving things to me.

I love you, I told her, never leave again.

~ Ender

~ ~ ~ ~ ~

This story and all related material are the original works of Awaiting the Muse and Effy J. Roan AKA Effraeti. All rights reserved.
Creative Commons License
Awaiting the Muse by Effy J. Roan AKA Effraeti is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 3.0 Unported License.

Based on a work at https://awaitingthemuse.wordpress.com/.

2 thoughts on “Short Story – Forever

    • Yah, when I dropped her off at the vet for her surgery the other day, all I could think about was that she probably still, even after almost 14 years, thought I was abandoning her. Because that’s how she acts every time I leave and every time I return. Too bad she I can’t seem to convince her otherwise.❤

      ~ Effy

Leave a Reply

