National Poetry Month – Week 1

Book of Poetry

Happy Poetry Month! Lately I have been trying my hand at Twitter writing prompts from various different people. They’re all on my Twitter account, but I figured it would be fun to post them here once a week, at least during the month of April!

Let me know what you think. Which is your favorite? (I am especially fond of the ones that reference dragons.)

~ Effy

Twitter Prompt Poetry

Wings snap and catch
The whipping wind
As I feel my
Spirit Rising
And the ground
Fall away
Below.
#HeartSoup

Cut my heart with
Misunderstanding
And indifference.
I surrender to
The painful numbness.
#MSpoetry

How do we salvage
This tangled wreckage,
This smoldering heap,
This ruined fortress,
These bleeding hearts?
#FieryVerse

Remember last night
As the end of
A dark chapter.
See today
As the start of
A brighter one.
#MadVerse

He thought he could
Sneak into my lair,
Steal my gold,
Escape without harm.
But I own the knight.
#DSpoetry

Twist the tainted blade
That pierced my soul.
It siphons my life
And shrivels my veins,
Leaving an empty husk.
#DSpoetry

Shedding the skin of past lives,
In fire consumed and reborn.
She is the phoenix.
#AshVerse
Excerpt from: Hope

Maple, birch, oak,
All stand and gloat
Springing green leaves.
While the pine
Stands silent,
Stoic,
Evergreen.
#HeartSoup

It shrouded her
Like a silky crimson cloak,
Before soaking into
Dry hardpack below.
Life and warmth absorbed.
#WrittenRiver

Scaled wings,
Taloned claws,
Burning rage–
Chaos ascending.
Looping lazily
Breathing terror
As death rains
And order falls away.
#MadVerse

Suave words, tender looks,
Fool me into loving you.
Romance and promises,
Too good and never true.
#WordVerse

Only when I see
The scorched skeletons
Among gold and gems
Do I realize the folly of
My last adventure.
#ThePush

First rule of summoning:
Never trust
The demon’s appeals.
It always tempts
But never reveals
The truth of all
It’s scheming deals.
#SPNMPY

Wanderlust,
Similar to
Wander off.
The difference lies
In the intention
Or lack thereof.
#WrittenRiver

~ ~ ~ ~ ~

This story and all related material are the original works of Awaiting the Muse and Effy J. Roan AKA Effraeti. All rights reserved.
Creative Commons License
Awaiting the Muse by Effy J. Roan AKA Effraeti is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 3.0 Unported License.

Based on a work at https://awaitingthemuse.wordpress.com/.

Leave a Reply

