Poem – Worldbuilding

Surreal Painiting

Unknown Painting, by an Unknown Artist

In Creative Writing, we’ve been discussing surrealistic writing. This short poem was inspired by the image above–which I found online, but unfortunately I could not find any information about it.

Enjoy!

~ Effy

Worldbuilding

Creating worlds in my mind.
Places of imagination:
Cities of dreams,
Mountains of emotion,
Oceans as deep as my searching soul,
Names perched on the edges of my mind.
Born like children–
Nursed through infancy
And encouraged to grow
Until they fill my brain
And fill the pages.

Empty pages–
Are they less or more terrifying
Than an empty imagination?
I fear them both.

So I keep my mind
Preoccupied with places
And populated with people.
People from sprawling spaces
Brimming with monsters
To keep the people busy.
Like my twirling mind keeps me busy
Because idle hands are the devil’s plaything
And so is an idle mind.

~ ~ ~ ~ ~

This story and all related material are the original works of Awaiting the Muse and Effy J. Roan AKA Effraeti. All rights reserved.
Creative Commons License
Awaiting the Muse by Effy J. Roan AKA Effraeti is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 3.0 Unported License.

Based on a work at https://awaitingthemuse.wordpress.com/.

Leave a Reply

