Poem – A Full (Empty) Life

A Water Glass

Perhaps I was already melancholy at the time, but I read a writing prompt that made me more so. It was from the blog of J.C. Cauthon:

The worst thing in life is to live a full, rich life but still die alone.

It really got me thinking about how I’ve tried to balance a relationship with family and work and school and writing. It always seems an unequal balance. How can I make a decision between what is “more important”? It seems impossible and unfair.

I’ll try and make sure the next piece I post is more cheery.🙂

~ Effy

A Full (Empty) Life

The meaning of life
Is it money?
Is it fame?
Is it legacy?
Is it love?

Life does not balance easily.
It careens us back and forth
Like a demented teeter totter.
It forces us to make decisions
And choose sides.

Do I devote myself
To work,
To knowledge,
To writing,
To love?

Which will I choose today?
Who is more important?
Such unfair questions.

Do I focus on me?
How selfish!
Do I focus on you?
What if you leave?

At least if I’m happy with myself
I can survive.
Better than being happy with you.
Because then I could not bear
The parting.

Why focus on others?
Why leave my life in your hands?
Everyone leaves.
Only I stay.

What makes this life
Full or empty?

~ ~ ~ ~ ~

This story and all related material are the original works of Awaiting the Muse and Effy J. Roan AKA Effraeti. All rights reserved.
Creative Commons License
Awaiting the Muse by Effy J. Roan AKA Effraeti is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 3.0 Unported License.

Based on a work at https://awaitingthemuse.wordpress.com/.

Leave a Reply

