Author Up Challenge – Day 4

rain puddle reflection

It’s Day 4 of the Author Up Challenge, and I’m still going strong.

Here’s today’s prompt:

Day 4: Write From the Female Perspective

I think I’ve got the female perspective down–I’ve got some experience. So I just needed to spark an idea. I came across this prompt on Pinterest I really wanted to use for something:

Writing Prompt: Last Line - I find peace in the rain.

I decided it would be interesting to use it for the beginning and the ending. I went through some ideas–like the last line being final to the story and the character, and I also played around with the idea of the rainwater being the what caused the death somehow. In the end, I decided on a poem. I’m not sure if all of these pieces are supposed to be prose. If so, I guess I broke this one.🙂

~ Effy

Salty Rain

I seek peace in the rain.
Falling drops drizzle
And hide the tears
That stream down my face.

The rain, it draws out
The hurt, the pain,
And sends invisible
Tracks down my cheeks.

The rain, it brings out
the reasons for my
loneliness and heartache–
Romance gone awry.

Is it me? I often wonder.
It seems too consistent
To be everyone else,
But I know I’m not that bad.

But it seems to be all my fault…

Spouting opinions that matter only to me.
Losing my temper.
Taking on too much.
Trying to fix the world.
Needing to make everything perfect.
Always being write, or do I mean right?
Being too bluntly honest.
Causing offense unintentionally.

Add them all up into
Someone impossible to live with.

There’s got to be one,
One perfect person for me,
In a world full of billions.
Someone who understands.

Or maybe he doesn’t exist
And romance is a farce
Made up by Hollywood
And too many fantasy books.

I search for happiness
Within myself, with myself.
Self love, self acceptance,
And awareness of the real me.

The water that streams
Down my reddened face
Washes away the tears
And I find peace in the rain.

~ ~ ~ ~ ~

This story and all related material are the original works of Awaiting the Muse and Effy J. Roan AKA Effraeti. All rights reserved.
Creative Commons License
Awaiting the Muse by Effy J. Roan AKA Effraeti is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 3.0 Unported License.

Based on a work at https://awaitingthemuse.wordpress.com/.

Leave a Reply

