Poem – Fleeting

Jetstream, by Unknown Artist

Jetstream, by Unknown Artist

This is the first free write from Creative Writing that I have tidied up and decided to share. Above is a painting shared by my teacher. Below is the poem it inspired. My apologies for the glare on the bird. I took a picture of the painting and didn’t notice the glare on the tiny screen of my phone.

Enjoy!

~ Effy

Fleeting

What was I saying?
The answer,
The thought,
Stood firmly in
My mind,
And now it’s gone–
Stolen away
Like a twig
Snatched by a bird
To build its nest.

What were we saying?
Perhaps I can
Steal it back,
Return it
To where it was
Before.
Sadly, thoughts are
More slippery than that,
Words more elusive,
Like butterflies,
Which once caught
Can never fly again.

~ ~ ~ ~ ~

This story and all related material are the original works of Awaiting the Muse and Effy J. Roan AKA Effraeti. All rights reserved.
Creative Commons License
Awaiting the Muse by Effy J. Roan AKA Effraeti is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 3.0 Unported License.

Based on a work at https://awaitingthemuse.wordpress.com/.

Leave a Reply

